County sets records; Kleinhenz holds on for win

9 p.m. update

In Bartholomew County, it was a record-setting year for early voting and for total primary voters, with 22,444 total voters casting ballots locally and with 6,345 early ballots cast — both county primary records.

With all 18 county vote center completely tallied and added to early voting, incumbent Republican County Commissioner Larry Kleinhenz has defeated his challenger Susan Thayer-Fye with 41 percent to 39 percent, and County Councilman Jorge Morales came in third with 20 percent of the vote in the District 1 race for County Commissioner.

County Council at-large has five Republicans candidates with the top 3 making it to the fall ballot. Incumbents Bill Lentz with 25 percent and Evelyn Strietelmeier Pence with 21 percent are both in that top 3, but newcomer Matt Miller has come in second in that race with 22 percent. Incumbent Jim Reed fell out of the top 3 with 20 percent of the vote and Mike Lovelace finished at just over 12 percent.

Kelly Benjamin has defeated Scott Andrews in the Bartholomew Circuit Court race on the Republican ticket 54 percent to 46 percent. And Clayton Nolting defeated Ron Shadley for the County Coroner race, 70 to 30 percent.

In the town of Hope, incumbent Town Councilman Greg Sims lost to Nellie Meek in the race for the Ward 2 seat on the Town Council in the Democratic primary.

State Representative Milo Smith has won the Republican nomination for Indiana District 59. In Bartholomew County, Smith won 47 percent of the vote to Ryan Lauer’s 39 percent and Lew Wilson’s 14 percent. On the Democratic side Bob Pittman defeated Dale Nowlin 54-46 percent in the Bartholomew County totals for the District 59 race.

Far southern Bartholomew County has some precincts that are in Statehouse district 69 and incumbent Jim Lucas has defeated challenger Nancy Franke in the race and in the Bartholomew County voting 61-39 percent. We have one state senate race that affects Bartholomew County and Eric Koch has won the Republican nomination in the District 44 race over Josh Anderson.

Donald Trump won the statewide race for the Republican presidential nomination and the Bartholomew County race, and Bernie Sanders carried local Democrats.