United Way of Bartholomew County honors several during annual meeting

The United Way of Bartholomew County is anticipating change over the next several years. The organization held its annual meeting Tuesday

Hundreds gather prior to the start of the United Way of Bartholomew County's annual meeting
Hundreds gather prior to the start of the United Way of Bartholomew County’s annual meeting

afternoon at the Factory 12 Event Loft. New Board Chairman Tom Brosey told the hundreds that gathered that the United Way is revising its strategy through 2016. He explains why…

Brosey says that the United Way strategy is a community strategy…

One thing that won’t change, said Brosey, is the important role that local United Way agencies play in getting help to those in need…

Brosey says that 2016 will be an exciting year…

A number of individuals and organizations were honored during Tuesday’s event. The organization handed out three GIVE Awards. They went to Forecia, Doctors Donnamarie and Rolf Loescher and the students at Taylorsville Elementary School. Taylorsville’s award has accepted by 11-year-old Chris Perez, who donated $40 of his own money to the United Way.

Other award recipients include:

Leadership Award: Lisa Shafran with Turning Point;
Advocate of the Year Award: Suzanne Diehn with CSA: Fodrea;
Volunteer of the Year Award: Lee Swanson;
Live United Award: Steve Knott with Master Power