Columbus-area chamber issues annual awards

Mike Riley is this year’s recipient of the Edna Folger Teaching Award.

The award was presented at the Columbus-area Chamber of Commerce’s annual luncheon. Riley teaches in the C4 program at Columbus North High School.

Marsha VanNahmen of the Center for Teaching and Learning presented the award to Riley:

03-03 Marsha VanNahmen-1

Ian Kohen is this year’s recipient of the chamber’s Community Service Award.

Kohen is president of the Columbus Human Rights Commission and the main leader for the annual Turning Point Dance Marathon. The award was presented by Greg Lewis, Columbus East High School teacher and social studies department chairman.

Lewis said that to see Kohen in his element, you just have to stop by the dance marathon this weekend at Central Middle School. Lewis also quoted Aida Ramirez, the director of the Human Rights Commission:

03-03 Greg Lewis-1

Other awards included Faurecia as company of the year and the county’s iGrad program as community initiative of the year.

The chamber also presented its annual Maverick Challenge High School Business Planning Competition winners. This year’s winners:

  • First place: Nick Glesing and Tyler Heathcote for Truckin’ Good Pancakes.
  • Second place: Madisyn Prince and Kelsey LIeberman for M&K Wedding Planning.
  • Most innovative award:  Anay Gangal for Deskomp