Candidates filling Bartholomew County ballot

Candidates are filling up the ballot for election to offices in Bartholomew County. In recent election filings:

Republican Ryan Lauer, a former member of Bartholomew County Council, has filed to run for the Indiana Assembly District 59 seat now held by Rep. Milo Smith. Smith also filed to run for re-election this week. They are joined by County Assessor Lew Wilson on the Republican primary ballot.

On the Democratic side, Bob Pitman, former head of the Mill Race Center is facing school teacher Dale Nowlin for the District 59 seat.

Three Democrats have filed to run for the three at-large seats on Bartholomew County Council. Those are Gaby Cheek, Pam Clark and Lynne Fleming. Republicans have a contested primary for those same three at-large seats with four candidates vying, including incumbents Bill Lentz, Evelyn Pence and Jim Reed and newcomer Matt Miller.

Other offices on the ballot this year include the District 1 and District 3 seats on the County Commissioners, Circuit Court judge, county coroner, county surveyor, Hope clerk-treasurer, and seats on the Hope and Hartsville town councils.

The only seat that is completely open as of this morning was Hope Clerk-Treasurer, but incumbent Diane Burton said she plans to run again.

The deadline to file for the 2016 election is noon on Friday, Feb. 5th at the voter registration office in the county courthouse on Washington Street.