Local conservation officer of the year named by DNR

An Indiana conservation officer from Morgan County has been named the officer of the year for our area.

According to the Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Officer Connor Christman has been selected as the Officer of the Year for District 6 which includes Bartholomew, Johnson, Brown, Shelby, and five other counties in south-central Indiana.

Christman is assigned to Morgan County and has served as a conservation officer since 2022.

The district award puts Christman in the running for the Pitzer Award, which is given to the top overall conservation officer in the state. Winners from all 10 statewide districts are eligible to win the Pitzer Award. It is named after Indiana Conservation Officer James D. Pitzer, who was fatally shot while investigating illegal hunting activity in Jay County in 1961.