Local appointments made for start of new year

Local governing bodies are holding their annual organizational meetings, choosing the leaders for the next year.

Bartholomew County Commissioners met yesterday and Commissioner Carl Lienhoop is the new president of that board.

Columbus City Councilman Frank Miller was chosen as the president pro tem of the council at last night’s council meeting.

Sarah Cannon will continue as president of the Columbus Redevelopment Commission. The Columbus Redevelopment Commission also changed its meeting time to 4 p.m. on the third Monday of each month. Commission members said that would be a better time for the public to attend.

The Bartholomew County Redevelopment Commission will continue to be led by Jorge Morales. They met Tuesday afternoon.

The Bartholomew County Council will make its annual leadership choices at next Tuesday’s meeting. They meet at 6 p.m. in the Council Chambers at the Governmental Office Building on Third Street.

The town of Hope will be having an organizational meeting for its Town Council on Thursday.

The Hope Town Council will also consider an ordinance to change its standard meeting day from the third Monday of the month, to the third Tuesday. The organizational meeting starts at 5:30 p.m. Thursday at the Town Hall.