Area counties to be honored for work in attaining student success

State officials say that eleven Indiana counties, including a few local ones, will be recognized for their efforts to improve student success in college and in establishing careers.

Officials with the Indiana Commission for Higher Education says that an event will be held Tuesday at the Indiana Statehouse. There, spokesperson Kaylee Showers says that Teresa Lubbers, Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education, will honor the counties for their work in establishing College Success Coalitions. Showers explains that these coalitions, which are comprised of groups of local education, workforce and community leaders, work together to help more students earn college degrees, or other training beyond high school.

Showers says that Indiana’s College Success Coalitions launched in 2010. She notes that there are currently 72 counties with these coalitions throughout the state.

Local counties being honored on Tuesday are: Brown and Johnson counties. State officials say that representatives from Dearborn, Greene, Huntington, LaGrange, Marshall, Martin, Randolph, Starke and Warrick counties will also be recognized during Tuesday’s event. It is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. to 4 p.m. in the North Atrium of the Indiana Statehouse.

You can learn more about the Indiana Higher Education Commission, as well as Tuesday’s ceremony, online at