New Year brings new mayor to Columbus

Columbus Mayor-Elect Jim Lienhoop officially takes the reins of city government tomorrow.

Lienhoop defeated incumbent Mayor Kristen Brown in the May Republican primary and was unopposed in the November general election. Lienhoop says that he’s been working on his transition since July.  He notes that one of the areas important to him was having the lowest amount of turnover at City Hall as possible with a new administration coming in.


Department head changes include the naming of Mary Ferdon as the city’s Director of Community Development and director of Administration.

Lienhoop on transition

Alan Whitted will serve as part-time City Attorney.


Dave Hayward will oversee the city’s public works department as well as working as City Engineer. The new fire chief will be Mike Compton. All other of Mayor Brown’s department heads will remain in place.

You are invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony for Lienhoop, and other Columbus officials, at 11 a.m. tomorrow at City Hall.