New CFD Board of Chiefs announced

Incoming Columbus Fire Chief Mike Compton announced his selection of chief officers that will serve on the department’s Board of Chiefs.

Compton has been chosen by Mayor-elect Jim Lienhoop to serve as fire chief when Lienhoop takes office on Friday.

Fire Department Spokesman Capt. Mike Wilson says the Board of Chiefs serve as the administrative and operational leadership of the department. He explains that the board is comprised of six chief officers: Fire Chief, Deputy Chief of Operations, Deputy Chief of Emergency Medical Services and three Battalion Chiefs that serve as commanding officers for the departments three shift rotations. Wilson adds that Battalion Chiefs work a 24-hour tour of duty on their respective shift.

Three chief officers presently serving on the board will remain in place under Chief Compton. Wilson says that EMS Deputy Chief Mike Kutsko, Battalion Chief Mark Ziegler and Battalion Chief Dan Cleland all serve under current Fire Chief Dave Allmon.

Two additional reassignments were also announced Monday. Wilson says that Captain Andy Lay, an 18-year CFD veteran has been named Deputy Chief of Operations, while 26-year-veteran Captain Terry Whitis has been named Battalion Chief.

Wilson says the CFD Board Of Chiefs is as follows:

Chief of Department- Mike Compton
Deputy Chief of Operations – Andy Lay
Deputy Chief of EMS – Mike Kutsko
Battalion Chief (A Shift) – Terry Whitis
Battalion Chief (B Shift) – Mark Ziegler
Battalion Chief (C Shift) – Dan Cleland

Incoming Chief Compton expressed his gratitude to these men and their willingness to serve as leaders of the administrative staff. He sais, “Each of these firefighters bring a number of strengths to the Board of Chiefs. I look forward to many successes as we work together to serve the citizens, the city and our department.”